Wednesday, 9 November 2011

Everybody Upside Down. Inversion Asanas

Physical benefit
  • Gives the heart a well deserved rest, as gravity helps to return venous blood to the heart.
  • Regular practice helps to strengthen the respiratory system and the circulation, keeping them flexible and slowing down the rate of breathing and the heartbeat when at rest. 
  • The body is generally enhanced by the deep breathing ,and the brain ,spine, and entire nervous system receive a rich supply of nutrients.This refreshes and rejuvenates the entire body.
  • Relieve varicose veins.

Mental benefits 

  • Increases memory,concentration, and intellectual capacity.
  • Enhance all the sensory faculties.

Pranic Benefits 

  • 'He who practice the Headstand (Sirshasana) for three hours daily conquers time'- Yoga Tatwa Upanishad
  • Sublimates  sexual drive by transmutting seminal energy into Ojas- Shakti. 

Various inverted asanas

Ardho Mukha Svanasana(Downward facing dog),Ardho Pincha Mayurasana( The Dolphin pose), Half-shoulder stand (Ardho Sarvangasana), Full shoulder stand (Sarvangasana),Halasana(The Plough), Headstand(Sirshasana),Ardho Mukha Vrksasana( Handstand).  

OM Namah Shivaya - Krishna Das

OM - Mantra Chant

OM - the Universal name of the Divine

 OM is not a word but rather intonation, it is made up of three Sanskrit letters aa,au and ma which,when combined together make the sound Aum or Om.  OM is of paramount importance in Hinduism. This symbol is a sacred syllable representing Brahman, the impersonal Absolute of Hinduism -omnipotent and omnipresent, and the source of all manifest existence. 
The four parts of the symbol OM symbolize four stages of consciousness: Awake, sleeping, dreaming, and a trance or transcendental state.
According to Mandukya Upanishad ( The Upanishads are writings forming the core of Indian philosophy) 'OM is the one eternal syllable of which all the exists is but the development'. The past, the present ,and the future are all included in this one sound, and all that exists beyond the tree forms of time is also implied in it.
OM provides a dualistic viewpoint.On one hand, it projects the mind beyond the immediate to what is abstract and inexpressible . On the other hand,it makes the absolute more tangible and comprehensive. It encompasses all potentialities and possibilities ; it is everything that was,is or can yet be . It is omnipotent and likewise remains undefined.
 It is believed to be the basic sound of the world and to contain all other sounds.This is a mantra (the mother of the mantras) or prayer in itself.If repeated with the correct intonation, it can resonate throughout the body so that the sound penetrates to the centre of one's being, the atman or soul.  
 During meditation when we chant OM, we create within ourselves  vibrations that attunes sympathy with the cosmic vibration and we start thinking universally.OM Namah Shivaya
Enjoy your chanting and its benefits on you soul! Namaste

Wednesday, 2 November 2011

Sequence of yoga asanas(postures) for Svadisthana Chakra, The Sacral chakra (Hips, Sacrum, Genitals)

In Sanskrit, the second chakra is called Svadisthana, which translates as "one's own place or base," indicating just how crucial this chakra is in our lives. It is illustrated with six petals and situated along the Sushumna (the central canal that corresponds to the spine in the physical body)in the genital area.The mantra of Svadisthana chakra is Vam
The tasks of  the second chakra include allowing for emotional and sensual movement in our life, opening to pleasure, and learning how to "go with the flow." Associated with the hips, sacrum, lower back, genitals, womb, bladder, and kidneys, this chakra is involved with sensuality, sexuality, emotions, intimacy, and desire. All watery things about us have to do with this chakra: circulation, urination, menstruation, orgasm, tears. 
Symptoms of a second chakra deficiency include fear of pleasure, being out of touch with feelings, and resistance to change. Sexual problems and discomfort in the lower back, hips, and reproductive organs can also signify that this chakra needs some kind attention.Second chakra asanas help us with adaptability and receptivity.
Asana sequence for balancing your second Svadisthana chakra (The Sacral chakra).

Malasana(Garland Pose),Gomukhasana(Cow Face Pose),Baddha Konasana(Bound Angle Pose), Upavistha Konasana(Open Angle Pose)Akarna Dhanurasana(The shooting bow), the first stage of Eka Pada Rajakapotasana(Pigeon Pose), Utthita Triconasana(Triangle), Utthita Parsvakonasana(Extended side angle pose), Varibhadrasana II(Warrior II), Parsvottanasana(Pyramid pose), Prasarita Padottanasana( Wide-legged forward bend), Parighasana(Gate Pose), Bhujangasana(Cobra), Shalabhasana(The Locust Rose), Makarasana(Crocodile pose), Chaturanga dandasana(Four-limbed staff pose), Paripurna Navasana( Full boat pose), Ardha Navasana (Half boat pose), Ardha Matsyendasana( Half lord of the fishes pose). 
End your session with peaceful restorative poses like, Supta Baddha Konasana (Goddess pose), Savasana  (Corpse Pose), Balasana (Child's Pose)and Ananda Balasana(Happy Baby Pose) 

These leg asanas,hip and groin openers all provide freedome of movement in the pelvis. Your hips and groins should never be forced.
Our lives give us plenty of opportunities to express ourselves and be active. In our yoga practice, we need to make sure we complement this with relaxation and receptivity. Harmony requires balance. In yoga, that means creating a practice that combines strength and flexibility, effort and surrender. Any imbalance in your yoga practice will be mirrored in your chakras. 

Enjoy your Svadisthana chakra sequence! Namaste